Ten Elkers selected to D-9 Large School Division All-stars

Photo by Bob Parana — PontiousPhoto by Bob Parana — RohrPhoto by Bob Parana — ScholderPhoto by Bob Parana — WickettPhoto by Bob Parana — KelleyPhoto by Bob Parana — Head coach HeindlPhoto by Bob Parana — AllegrettoPhoto by Bob Parana — BriggsPhoto by Bob Parana — Furlong
Brian Stockman
Staff Writer

While a third straight District Championship is the main focus of the Ridgway Elkers, ten players and their head head coach were honored this week by District 9.
The ten players were named to the District 9 Large School Division All-star team. Head coach Mark Heindl was named Coach of the Year. Coaches from competing teams voted on the selections.
This was the first season for the district’s new set up. With the Allegheny Mountain League and KSAC no longer in existence, the district decided to break things up into three divisions. They include the Large School Division, the Small School North Division and the Small School South Division.
The 9-1 Elkers were the Large School Champions. Unbeaten Smethport won the Small School North Division and the Elk County Crusaders (7-2 regular season) were the South Division winners.
Ridgway players named to the squad include Parker Rohr (offensive line); Issac Schloder (tight end); Paul Gresco (quarterback); Gabe Watts (punter); Evan Furlong (linebacker); Robert Briggs (linebacker); Chase Pontious (defensive line); Damon Kelley (defensive end); Jake Wickett (safety) and Daunte Allegretto (cornerback).
Furlong was honored as the Division's Defensive MVP and Pontious was named Defensive Lineman Of The Year.
Heindl is in his 10th season as the Elkers head coach. With the current 9-1 record, he is now 61-56 for his career.
Ridgway led the division’s all-stars with their ten players. The nine other schools had the following: Bradford (seven); Brookville (six); Clarion (six); Moniteau (six); Brockway (five); Karns City (five) and Punxsutawney (two). Kane and St. Marys had no players named to the team. Offensive lineman, Alex Agosti, did receive an honorable mention for the Dutch.
The Large School Division All-stars consist of seven offensive linemen, five wide receiver/slot backs, four running/slot back, two tight ends, two quarterbacks, two return specialists, two punters, two place kickers, seven linebackers, six defensive line/ends, four safeties and four cornerbacks.
The Elkers start their quest for a third straight District 9 title today at 1 p.m. at EJ Mansell Stadium in DuBois. Today's oppenent Moniteau (7-4) had four players named to the all-star squad at six positions.
Warrior all-stars include, James Parenti (offensive line, defensive line); Cody Wise (running back; linebacker); Nick Martino (linebacker) and Chance Nagy (safety). Parenti was also named the Offensive Lineman of the Year.
The Ridgway vs. Montieau winner will face tonight's Brookville vs. Brockway winner next week for the District's Class AA title. The Elkers have won the past two Single A championships. They were moved to double A for this season.
Brookville has six positions on the all-star squad. They include, Colby Whitehill (offensive line); Bryan Dworek (wide receiver); Cabe Park (wide receiver; return specialist), Robert Keth (quarterback) and Kyle MacBeth (cornerback). Brockway is represented by John Wood (slot back, return specialist); Austin Bullers (offensive line) and Zane Puhala (kicker).
Bradford running back Donny Pattison was named the Division's Offensive MVP.
The Elk County Catholic Crusaders topped the Small School South division team with seven players filling eight spots.
The include Ben Sherry (Offensive, Defensive line); Hunter Cashmer (wide receiver/slot back); Stephen Bobby (running back); Alex Breindel (tight end); Leo Gregory (kicker); Bryan Schatz (linebacker) and John Wittman Jr. (cornerback).
Clarion-Limestone's David Eggleton was named coach of the year.
The Small School North Division was dominated by the unbeaten Smethport Hubbers.
Eleven players were selected to the team. They include Ian Woodford (offensive line); Bradley LaFleur (offensive line); Alex Sanderson (wide receiver); Blake Kinner (running back); Dale Burdick (tight end); Grant Ognen (quarterback); Braedon Johnson (return specialist); Noah Costa (kicker); Travis Cooney (linebacker); Nathan Hollowell (safety) anad Logan Christie (cornerback).
Kinner was named the division's Offensive MVP. Smethport's Adam Jack was named Coach of the Year.