Smallbore hunting rifle competition kicks off

The NRA National Silhouette shooting championships opened Sunday with a familiar name on top of the standings. Cathy Winstead-Severin (Joplin, Mo.) was the match winner in smallbore hunting rifle with a 37 out of a perfect score of 40. She also was the match winner in standard rifle. Mallory Nichols (Fort Smith, Ark.) was second overall with a 36 and Enrique Kuess Jr. (Laredo, Texas) was third with a 36. Ron Bain (New Haven, Mo.) won the master class with a score of 34. Ben Marzella (Ridgway) was second with a 34 and Eric Boos (Little Rock, Wash.) was third with a 34. Dennis Martinen (Yakima, Wash.) was fourth at 33 and Russell Neville Teale (Queensland, Australia) was fifth with a 33. Gabriel Guerra (Monterrey, Mexico) was sixth with a 33 and Wally Howard (Hazel Hurst) was seventh with a 32. Kenneth M. Haupricht (Johnsonburg) was eighth at 32 and Scott Pierce (Lewistown) was ninth at 31. Brian Launer (Johnsonburg) was 10th at 31. In the AAA class, Enrique Kuess Sr. (Laredo, Texas) was the winner at 32. Angelica Kuess Davila (Laredo, Texas) was second at 31 and James M. Kniss (Mount Joy) was third at 28. David E. Leedy (Rebersburg) took fourth at 28 and Carlos Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) had fifth place with a 28. Kevin Burge (Terra Alta, W. Va.) was sixth at 28 and John Neihouse (Fort Smith, Ark.) was seventh with a 27. Jason Peterson (Bell Buckle, Tenn.) was eighth with a 26 and F. Woody Walk (Metairie, La.) had ninth at 26. Jeffrey Thomas (Johnstown) was 10th at 26. In the AA class, Mark Latham (Washington, Mo.) was the winner at 30. Jorge Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) was second at 29 and Tyler S. Bonson (Reedsville) was third at 27. Sue A. Critz (El Paso, Texas) was fourth at 24 and David True (Canberra, Australia) was fifth at 23. Jim Pendleton (Markdale, Ontario, Canada) was sixth at 22 and Kathryn Grigg (Shelby, N.C.) was seventh at 21. John Milliron (Kane) was eighth at 21 and Hal Simpkins (Hampstead, Md.) was ninth at 21. Robert Spahr (York) took 10th at 20. At A Class, Alex Joseph Pierce (Lewistown) won with a 22. Deon Germishuizen (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) was second at 22 and Tom Fullem (Ridgway) was third with a 21. G. Michael Mackey (Russell) was the B class winner with 15. Competition resumes at 9 a.m. Monday morning and continues through the day.