NRA Silhouette Championships open at Rifle Club

The NRA National Silhouette shooting championships began with first-day competition Sunday at the Ridgway Rifle Club smallbore range. Cathy Winstead-Severin (Joplin, Mo.) was the first-day match winner in the smallbore standard rifle competition with a score of 39. Enrique Kuess Jr. (Laredo, Texas) was second overall with a 39 and William Zander (Houston, Texas) was third with a 38. Luke Johnson (Marysville) was the master class winner Sunday with a 36 and Mallory Nichols (Fort Smith, Ark.) was second with a 35. Mark S. Pharr (Round Rock, Texas) was third with a 35 and Greg Engel (Flossmoor, Ill.) was fourth with a 35. Alan Bruce Finley (Calhoun, La.) was fifth was a 34 and Susan Peery was sixth with a 34. In seventh place was Kenneth M. Haupricht (Johnsonburg) with a score of 33 and Ron Bin (New Haven, Mo.) was eighth, tallying a 33. Wally Howard (Hazel Hurst) took ninth with a 32. Brian Launer (Johnsonburg) rounded out the top 10 with a mark of 32. In the AAA class, Jorge Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) was the class winner with a score of 34. Angelica Kuess Davila (Laredo, Texas) was second with a 33 and Gerold B. Johnson (Duncannon) was third with a 33. Larry Armstrong (Export) was fourth with 31 and Scott Lurie (Browntown, Va.) took fifth with a 31. G. Scott LaManna (Scotrun) was sixth with a 31, Carlos Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) was seventh with a 31. David E. Leedy (Rebersburg) was eighth at 30, Jason Peterson (Bell Buckle, Tenn.) had ninth at 29 and Brad Maxwell (Kitchener, Ontario, Canada) was 10th at 28. In the AA class, Patrick Petrillo (Hollywood, Fla.) won with a 29. Jake Sprague (Cary, N.C.) was second at 27 and Tyler S. Bonson (Reedsville) was third with a 27. Hunter Hinds (Loganton) was fourth with a 26 and David Gillispie (Reedsville, W. Va.) took fifth at 24. Tommy Peery (Center, Mo.) was sixth with a 23 and John J. McInchak (Erie) was seventh at 23. Sue Critz (El Paso, Texas) placed eighth with a 23 and Peter Kofira (Endwell, N.Y.) was ninth with a 22. In the A class, Mary Mackey (Russell) was the winner with a 20. Kelli Grim (Clarksburg, Md.) was second with a 19 and Alex Joseph Pierce (Lewistown) was third with a 17. Deon Germishuizen (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) was the B class winner with a 14. Competition resumes at 9 a.m. Monday morning at the Ridgway Rifle Club smallbore range.