Kuess Davila wins national championship

Angelica Kuess Davila (Laredo, Texas) won the national championship in high power standard rifle as the 3-day competition closed Saturday at the Ridgway Rifle Club. She finished with a score of 98 (33-33-32) to win by two over Enrique Kuess Jr. (Laredo, Texas). Luke Johnson (Marysville) was third with a 93. In master class, Laura Goetsch (Whites Creek, Tenn.) was the aggregate winner with a 91. Fred Kielbowick (Ridgway) was second with a 91 and William Zander (Houston, Texas) was third with a 90. Kenneth M. Haupricht (Johnsonburg) was fourth with a 90 and Mark Pharr (Round Rock, Texas) took fifth at 90. Greg Engel (Flossmoor, Ill.) was sixth with a score of 88 and Wally Howard (Hazel Hurst) took seventh with a score of 87. Mark Varner (Lewistown) placed eighth with a score of 87 and Eric Boos (Little Rock, Wash.) was ninth with a score of 85. Jorge Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) was the aggregate AAA class winner with a score of 87. Ron Bain (New Haven, Mo.) took second with a score of 81 and Susan Peery (Churchton, Md.) was third at 81. Matt Pavlik (Russellton) was fourth at 80 and Carlos Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) was fifth at 77. Jerry Tureau (Baton Rouge, La.) was sixth with a 77 and Mary Watkins (Merritt Island, Fla.) took seventh with a 77. Walter Robertson (Fairview) was eighth with a 74 and Anthony Finn (Bracken Ridge, Australia) took ninth with a 74. Brian Launer (Johnsonburg) was the AA aggregate class winner with a score of 77. Bruce Finley (Calhoun, La.) took second at 73 and Adam Hostetler (Lebanon) was third at 73. Jason Peterson (Bell Buckle, Tenn.) was fourth at 72 and David Gillispie (Reedsville, W. Va.) was fifth at 66. Kevin Burge (Terra Alta, W. Va.) was sixth at 63 and Benny W. Grigg (Shelby, N.C.) was seventh at 60. Mallory Nichols (Fort Smith, Ark.) was eighth at 59 and Harold Frey (Waterloo, Ontario, Canada) was ninth at 59. Gerold Johnson (Duncannon) was 10th at 59. John McInchak (Erie) was the aggregate A class winner with a 55. Frederick Janeczko (Sterling Heights, Mich.) was second at 50 and Larry Armstrong (Export) was third with a 48. Greg Macedo (Kitchener, Ontario, Canada) was fourth at 42. Nick Opperman (Lalucia, Durban, South Africa) was fifth at 40. F. Woody Walk (Metairie, La.) was the aggregate B class winner with a 52.Enrique Kuess Jr. was the Saturday match winner with a score of 34. Luke Johnson was second at 34 and Ben Marzella of Ridgway was third with a 33. Mark Varner was the master class match winner with a 32. Kenneth M. Haupricht was second at 31 and Mark Pharr was third at 30. Fred Kielbowick was fourth at 30 and Wally Howard was fifth at 30. Dennis Martinen (Yakima, Wash.) took sixth at 30 and Greg Engel was seventh at 30. Gabriel Guerra (Monterrey, Mexico) was eighth at 29 and Laura Goetsch took ninth with a 29. Angelica Kuess Davila was the AAA class winner with a 32. Mary Watkins was second with a 32 and Jorge Moreno took third with a 30. Carlos Moreno was fourth at 29 and Walter Robertson took fifth with a 28. Ron Bain was sixth with a 28 and James Goodnight (Lone Tree, Colo.) had a seventh-place finish at 27. Susan Peery was eighth at 27 and Steve Engel (Kennett Square) was ninth at 26. David Gillispie was the AA class winner at 28. Jason Peterson took second with a 27 and Adam Hostetler was third with a 25. Bruce Finler was fourth at 23 and Brian Launer was fifth at 23. Owen Peters (Richmond, Va.) was sixth at 21 and Mallory Nichols was seventh at 21. Eric Amick (Penn Run) had an eighth-place finish at 20 and John Vandorick (Factoryville) was ninth at 20. Harold Frey (Waterloo, Ontario, Canada) was 10th with a score of 20. Greg Macedo (Kitchener, Ontario, Canada) was the A class winner with a 21. Pete Gionet was second at 19 and Larry Armstrong was third at 16. Frederick Janeczko was fourth at 15 and Richard "Mickey" McBride (Erie) rounded out the top 5 with a 15. Hunter Vandorick (Factoryville) was the B class winner with a 15.