Johnsonburg track and field teams recognized with banquet

JOHNSONBURG – The Johnsonburg varsity and junior high track and field teams were honored with a banquet Tuesday night at the Johnsonburg Fire Hall. Varsity head coach Rene Timm introduced the coaching staffs for both varsity and junior high. Timm was assisted by Brent Barraclough, Curt Breakey and Holly Morelli. The head coach for the junior high team was Dan Carnovale and Mike Haight was the assistant junior high coach. Robin Dubler was the booster president. Pat Polaski is vice president and the board was joined by Pam Anderson, Cindy Miller and Donna Shuey. Barraclough handed out the track MVPs. Alexis Konen was the girls MVP for track."What she does in track speaks volumes," Barraclough said. "Through her efforts, she was on the 4x800 relay team that qualified for districts. She also qualified for districts in the 800-meter run." Cody Schreiber was the boys track MVP. "He's another hard worker, he sets the example in practice," Barraclough said. "He always gave 100 percent. He split time between the 3200 and pole vaulting and did both exceptionally well. He qualified for districts in both of them." Breakey presented the field MVPs and also expressed appreciation to the boosters and the coaches. Kiesha Dornish was the girls field MVP and a district qualifier for shot put. "She was first at the McDowell Invitational, she was our Elk County champ," Breakey said. "She is the Elk County record-setter this year. She's the district 9 runner-up where she was beat by a girl in her last throw. She was sixth place in the PIAA meet (javelin)." The four state qualifiers are Dornish, Mike Shuey, Trevor Miller and Cody Anderson. Shuey was the boys MVP. "Mike was first at the West Central coaches meet," Breakey said. "He's the Elk County champ where he also set a new county record. He was the Elk County Meet MVP, he was also an accomplished high jumper, he set a new school record at 6-4. He's the district 9 champ in the javelin and in the high jump. He was seventh in the PIAA. I know he was a little disappointed but as you get older, you're going to appreciate what you did."Morelli gave the coach's award to Bryton Dybowski. Timm said the track and field season was a tremendous success. "I can't express my gratitude anymore than the other three coaches have," Timm said. "We had a wonderful year, there's so many wonderful things that have happened."Shuey broke the javelin record. Dornish broke the girls javelin record. Anderson broke the record in discus. Miller has a new record in shot put. Rhianon Fowler broke her own school record in long jump. The Bob Bedford Memorial Award was awarded to Miller. All of the varsity track and field athletes were individually recognized. Not all of the athletes could be in attendance. Those recognized included Gabbi Benninger, Kathryn Polaski, Chelsea Benson, Angela DeAngelo, Emily Dubler, Rhianon Fowler, Dylan Dilulio, Marianne Aboussou, Abbie Lampman, Drew Lecker, Jason Dubler, Mary Krewduk, Cody Schreiber, Kiesha Dornish, Kurt Martonik, Mike Shuey, Trevor Miller, Kathryn Kimes, Kara Cribbs, Taylor Elias, Laura Stahli, Cody Anderson, Carissa Imdorf and Chelsea Phillips. On the junior high side, coach Carnovale congratulated the state qualifiers and place winners. Carnovale expressed appreciation to the track boosters and parents. "We definitely have one of the smoothest running meets around," Carnovale said. "Everyone that comes to our meet always says how well it goes."Carnovale recognized Karen Kinkead for taking pictures of the junior high athletes this season.Rachel Guyer won the coach's award for junior high."She does anything you can ask of her," Carnovale said. "She runs better than everyone I've ever seen."The junior high team members recognized were Crystal Anderson, Jill Asti, Lexi Carnovale, Cheyenne Copello, Jenna DeAngelo, Rachel Guyer, Kiersten Hinton, Ashley Imbrogno, Emily Johnston, Jilly Mercer, Amber Mitchell, Hannah Newman, Olivia Perez-McGill, Amanda Shilk, Destinee Smith, Rachel Smith, Emma Thompson, Taylor Wolfe, Kaitlyn Yankovich, River Zimmerman, Joey Asti, Josh Bundy, Dakota Dworsky, Jimmy Elinsky, Justin Kinkead, Josh Lineberger, William Peluso and Ricky Shipe.