Johnsonburg track and field looking strong for new season

JOHNSONBURG – The Johnsonburg track and field team heads into the new season with returning state qualifiers and improving younger athletes. “We didn’t really lose too many seniors so we’re not really in a rebuilding year yet,” Johnsonburg coach Rene Timm said. “We’re still kind of picking up from where we were last year. We’re seeing a lot of improvement from kids that have been out the last couple years. Everyone just keeps getting better and better. We’ve got some new faces out too and some returning kids.”Timm said the numbers for the team are good this year and should be even higher next season. Johnsonburg also co-ops with Ridgway students. “The team is definitely looking up for next year, there’s a lot of eighth-graders coming up and if they all stick with it, we’re going to have a pretty big team,” Timm said.Timm mentioned the throwing events as being a strong part of the team. “We’re still strong in the throws, we have three returning state qualifiers returning in the throws,” Timm said. “Two in the javelin, one in the discus. We have a good core of strong distance kids. We have our returning 4X8, we have three coming back.”While the team is ready for the season, the athletes have mostly been confined to staying inside because of the weather. “Just getting mother nature to cooperate would be great,” Timm said.Timm is encouraged by what she has seen in practice thus far. “For everyone to keep up their best work ethic, everyone seems to be doing great so as long as their work ethic stays the same and they strive to reach their goals that they have set for themselves, I can’t ask for more than that,” Timm said.Johnsonburg has two scheduled home meets on March 29 and May 5 and will host the Elk County Meet on May 12. Team members at the beginning of the season are: Mary Krewduk, Marianne Aboussou, Alexis Konen, Kara Cribbs, Gabbi Benninger, Emily Dubler, Kelsey O’Rourke, Carissa Imdorf, Angela DeAngelo, Hannah Lampman, Laura Stahli, Kiesha Dornish, Kathryn Polaski, Abbie Lampman, Tracey Ecklund, Adam Gardner, Krista Jacobs, Cody Anderson, Cody Schreiber, Kathryn Kimes, Chelsea Benson, Rhianon Fowler, Bryton Dybowski, Dylan Dilulio, Trevor Miller, Drew Lecker, Mike Shuey, Jason Dubler, Kurt Martonik, Alyson Dybowski. Timm is assisted on the coaching end by Brent Barraclaugh, Curt Breakey and Holly Morelli.