High power hunting rifle completes event

The high power hunting rifle portion of the NRA National Silhouette Championships concluded Saturday at the Ridgway Rifle Club. Mark Pharr (Round Rock, Texas) is the national champion with a 3-day total of 95 (34-34-27). Luke Johnson (Marysville) was second at 94 and William Zander (Houston, Texas) took third with a 92. Enrique Kuess Jr. (Laredo, Texas) was the aggregate master class winner with a 90. Kenneth M. Haupricht (Johnsonburg) was second at 86 and Mark Varner (Lewistown) took third at 85. Laura Goetsch (Whites Creek, Tenn.) was fourth at 83 and Peter Sedman (Clifford, Ontario, Canada) was fifth at 82. Fred Kielbowick (Ridgway) took sixth at 82 and Dennis Martinen (Yakima, Wash.) was seventh at 81. Walter Robertson (Fairview) placed eighth at 79 and Susan Peery (Churchton, Md.) placed ninth at 79. Angelica Kuess Davila (Laredo, Texas) was the aggregate AAA class winner with a score of 90. Jorge Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) was second at 83. Greg Engel (Flossmoor, Ill.) was third at 80 and Ron Bain (New Haven, Mo.) took fourth at 77 and Brian Launer (Johnsonburg) was fifth at 74. Carlos Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) was sixth at 73 and John Shaw (Blackwood, N.J.) placed seventh at 73. Jerry Tureau (Baton Rouge, La.) was eighth at 71 and Brad Maxwell (Kitchener, Ontario, Canada) was ninth at 70. Kevin Burge (Terra Alta, W. Va.) was the aggregate AA class winner at 64. Jason Peterson (Bell Buckle, Tenn.) was second at 62 and F. Woody Walk (Metairie, La.) was third at 61. Richard Franke (Clinton Township, Mich.) was fourth at 60 and Mallory Nichols (Fort Smith, Ark.) was fifth at 58. Owen Peters (Richmond, Va.) was sixth at 57. Gary Dawson (Rochester, Mich.) was seventh at 57. Fenton Sandlin (Alba, Texas) was eighth at 50 and John McInchak (Erie) was ninth at 49. Benny Grigg (Shelby, N.C.) was the aggregate A class winner at 61. Mary Watkins (Merritt Island, Fla.) was second at 59 and Russell Teale (Queensland, Australia) was third at 58. Larry Armstrong (Export) was fourth at 45 and John Vandorick (Factoryville) rounded out the top 5 at 44. Adam Steppe (South Williamsport) was the aggregate B class winner with a 43. In Saturday's match, Kenneth M. Haupricht was the match winner with a 32. Enrique Kuess Jr. was second overall at 32 and Mark Varner was third at 31. In master class, William Zander won with a 31 and Ridgway native Ben Marzella was second at 30. Laura Goetsch was third at 30 and Gabriel Guerra took fourth at 30. Dennis Martinen placed fifth at 30 and Fred Kielbowick was sixth at 28. Peter Sedman was seventh at 27 and Walter Robertson was eighth at 27. Susan Peery took ninth at 27. Angelica Kuess Davila was the AAA class winner with a 30. Jorge Moreno was second at 30 and Luke Johnson was third at 30. Bruce Finley had a 28 to place fourth and Carlos Moreno had a score of 27 for fifth place. Ron Bain had a 26 for sixth and Greg Engel took seventh with a 25. Anthony Finn (Bracken Ridge, Australia) took eighth with a 25 and John Shaw was ninth with a 25. Jason Peterson was the AA class winner with a score of 24. F. Woody Walk was second at 22 and Kevin Burge took third with a 22. Pete Gionet was fourth at 22 and Gary Dawson took fifth at 19. Thomas Danias Sr. (Erie) was sixth at 18 and Mallory Nichols had a score of 18 for seventh place. Owen Peters was eighth at 18 and David Wester was ninth at 17. Benny Grigg was the A class winner with a 22. Nick Opperman was second at 21 and Mary Watkins was third with a 21. Greg Macedo was fourth at 20 and Australia's Russell Teals placed fifth at 18. Adam Steppe was the B class winner with a 14.