Skip to main content

High power hunting rifle completes second day

August 13, 2011

Greg Engel, right, was the master class winner in high power standard rifle Friday afternoon and second in high power hunting rifle. Engel stands with awards presenter Mark Holsopple.

The high power hunting rifle event completed the second day of three days of competition Friday afternoon at the Ridgway Rifle Club as part of the NRA National Silhouette Championships.
Luke Johnson (Marysville) had a score of 34 and was the match winner. Mark Pharr (Round Rock, Texas) was second and Angelica Kuess Davila (Laredo, Texas) was third with a 33.
Enrique Kuess Jr. (Laredo, Texas) was the master class champion with a score of 31. William Zander (Houston, Texas) was second with a 30 and Kenneth M. Haupricht took third with a 30. Mark Varner (Lewistown) was fourth with a 29 and Loren Peter (Vancouver, Wash.) took fifth with a score of 28. Fred Kielbowick (Ridgway) was sixth with a 28 and Susan Peery (Churchton, Md.) took seventh with a 28. Peter Sedman (Clifford, Ontario, Canada) was eighth with a 27 and Wally Howard took ninth with a score of 27.
Brad Maxwell (Kitchener, Ontario, Canada) was the AAA class winner with a 32. Greg Engel (Flossmoor, Ill.) was second at 30 and Jorge Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) had a third-place finish with a 28. Ron Bain (New Haven, Mo.) was fourth with a 27 and Brian Wakefield (Smethport) had a fifth-place mark at 27. Jerry Tureau (Baton Rouge, La.) took sixth with a 25 and Brian Launer (Johnsonburg) took seventh at 25. Daniel Brown (Shelby, N.C.) took eighth at 24 and Carlos Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) placed ninth at 23.
In AA class, F. Woody Walk (Metairie, La.) was the class winner with a 26. Owen Peters (Richmond, Va.) was second with a 22 and Kevin Burge (Terra Alta, W. Va.) was third with a 22. Mallory Nichols (Fort Smith, Ark.) took fourth with a 22 and Jason Peterson (Bell Buckle, Tenn.) placed fifth at 22 and Larry Medler (Taylor, Mich.) took sixth at 21. Fenton Sandlin (Alba, Texas) was seventh at 21 and John Neihouse (Fort Smith, Ark.) was eighth at 18 and Frederick Janeczko (Sterling Heights, Mich.) had a ninth-place finish with a score of 18. Richard Franke (Clinton Township, Mich.) was 10th with a score of 18.
Russell Teale (Queensland, Australia) was the A class winner with a 20. Mary Watkins (Merritt Island, Fla.) was second with a 19 and Benny Grigg (Shelby, N.C.) was third with a score of 18. John Vandorick (Factoryville) was fourth with a 17 and Jim Pendleton (Markdale, Ontario, Canada) was fifth at 16.
Hunter Vandorick (Factoryville) had a 15 to win B class.

View more articles in:
Casey Woodford serves during Ridgway volleyball practice earlier this week.
The Lady Dutch had their second match of the season Tuesday at the St. Marys Area High School...
The Elk County Catholic Lady Crusader tennis team picked up their first win of the season Tuesday...



Classified Ads